Fantasy Basketball – Solver for Draft Optimization

In the last post, I shared my rankings and how they were derived. Great, but the question remains, what is the best team money can buy in an auction draft?

Excel and Open Office come with a Solver tool, it’s capable of linear optimization, or maximizing a value Y with a budget constraint X.

Below is a list of each player, their average cost, their estimated value, and how many of each position I want/need.

nba solver 2

Below is how I set up solver

nba solver pic

This gave a team that is much better than a lot of teams drafted. If you draft against a completely average set of opponents, consider yourself lucky. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in fantasy basketball. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Fantasy Basketball – Solver for Draft Optimization

  1. Drewfer says:

    This has been very helpful for baseline to compare against, as I had started a solver for Daily NFL yesterday and I was getting some wacky results. You are gentleman and a scholar.

Leave a comment